Facebook Spam: 92.5 Percent of People Cannot Watch This Video for More Than 33 Seconds

This Facebook spam that began last year in November is still rampant. I still keep getting wall and inbox message that reads something like “98 Percent of People Can’t Watch This Video for More Than 15 Seconds”. This means that people in my friend list are still getting fooled by the spam. So, I decided to write about the issue.

Percentage, number of seconds and attached video image could vary. These are spam messages.

Please note that the “percentage of people”, “number of seconds” and associated video image could vary —so you should be careful about all similar messages.

Now the simple thing is: these messages are spam and you should not click on the associated “video”.

The fact is that the associated video is not a video at all. What you see is actually a thumbnail picture that looks like a attached video with a Facebook message. The message and the picture are chosen to make you curious and give click. DO NOT DO THAT and delete such messages right away.

But what happens if you do click on the given link?

A click on the given link will take you to a scam website. The website might look like a Facebook page or anything else –but don’t be fooled by this stuff.

Stay alert and act wisely to avoid scams on Facebook.
Stay alert and act wisely to avoid scams on Facebook.

If you will click on such links the spam may simply spread itself (i.e. your friends will receive similar messages from your account) or it may even compromise your own Facebook account.

I have received such a message, what should I do?
  1. DO NOT CLICK the given link or “video”
  2. Delete all such messages immediately
  3. If by mistake you click the link –do not go forward on the website you have been redirected to. Just get out of it by closing the window/tab
  4. If you have moved much forward by clicking buttons/links –do inform your Facebook friends that they might receive such messages from your account. Tell them that these messages are spam and should be deleted right away
My friends are receiving such messages from me, what should I do?
  1. Delete all such messages from your FB wall and inbox
  2. Log out from Facebook
  3. Log out from any other website (like your email) that you might be logged into
  4. Delete all your cookies (in all the browsers you use)
  5. Clear browser cache (in all the browsers you use)
  6. Reboot your computer
  7. Change your Facebook password
  8. Inform your friends that such messages are actually spam (automatically generated messages) and if they receive anything like this –they should delete it.

Facebook has been target of a variety of scams. Nowadays, another “emoticon” scam is doing rounds that asks people to follow certain malicious instructions. Following these instructions may compromise your FB account’s safety. So, be careful while you’re on Facebook.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *